Søk på dette nettstedet

About Us | Documents ( ) | Conference | Books | Partners | Contact | Home

1936  CARL VON OSSIETZKY awarded the Nobel Peace Prize
2016  EDWARD SNOWDEN awarded the Ossietzky Prize

On 18 November 2016 Edward Snowden will be handed the Norwegian PEN's Ossietzky Prize for outstanding achievements as a whistleblower. We do not want his chair to stand empty in the University Hall in Oslo this day due to lack of security to travel to Oslo, like Carl von Ossietzky himself was denied going to Oslo to receive the Nobel Peace Prize in 1936. We need your help!

Petition to the Government of Norway

We urge the government of Norway to ensure that NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden can safely enter Norway to receive the Ossietzky Prize, which will be formally bestowed upon Mr. Snowden by the freedom of expression group Norwegian PEN 18 November 2016. This will require that Norway commit to providing Mr. Snowden guaranteed protection from extradition to the United States.

Co-inviters behind this petition are:  

Noam Chomsky, renown linguist, political writer and commentator
Arundhati Roy, 1997 Booker Prize Laurate, and human rights icon
Daniel Ellsberg, US political and RAND corporation analyst turned whistleblower
Marit Arnstad, member of the Norwegian Parliament
Jesselyn Radack, WHISPeR program at ExposeFacts, attorney for Edward Snowden
Mari Boine, world renown Sami jazz rock musician
Arne Ruth, Swedish publicist and longtime editor
Ola Larsmo, Swedish PEN and Bjørnson Prize laurate for 2008
Moddi, Norwegian singer-song-writer
Coleen Rowley, FBI special agent turned whistleblower and Time Magazine "Person of the Year" 2002
Thomas Drake, Decorated Pilot, NSA mass surveillance expert and whistleblower
Marsha Coleman-Adebayo, US Environmental Protection Agency analyst turned whistleblower
Marjorie Cohn,  professor at Thomas Jefferson School of Law and former president of the National Lawyers Guild
William Binney, longtime NSA analyst turned whistleblower
John Kiriakou, CIA analyst and whistleblower
William Nygaard, Norwegian publisist, chair of Norwegian PEN
Join them and sign the petition!

Go to www.norskpen.no or click directly on SIGN-ON to the right.

We need your help so that Snowden's chair will not remain empty on November 18, as Carl von Ossietzky's was empty in 1936!

Go back